Web Sites

Not all of these are pretty, and not all of these are as current as they could be, but they are on the web, have been evaluated by librarians, and found useful and of interest. Items with asterisks (*) have many useful elements.

African Traditional Religions 

This site is maintained by Chidi Denis Isizoh. Four major sections include "Some topical issues," a collection of links to  recent articles and papers on the subject.  "Introduction to aspects of the religion" features a bibliography on African traditional religion,  links to other sites on African traditional religion, statistics and a map of Africa. Section three  contains links to speeches and articles. The final section "Practice of African Traditional Religion on the continent and in the Diaspora" offers links to web sites of interest in this area.

Afrocaribbean Religions 

(A dot.com site, but of interest) 
Discusses Abakua,  Regla Conga and Voodoo, among other religions. 
*American Religion Data Archive
(A site from a major university.) 

Penn State University  was funded by the Lilly Foundation to preserve quantitative data on American religion, including data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations). DATES on pages VARY. 

Avesta - Zoroastrian Archives 

"
We provide the complete text of the extant Avesta, the most ancient scriptures of Zoroastrianism, as well as many Pahlavi scriptures. It also includes information about the Avestan language, and other useful information for students of Zoroastrian religion. Most of the texts in these archives are extremely rare."
*Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library 

Dr T. Matthew Ciolek (The Australian National University, Canberra, AU), Prof. Joe Bransford Wilson (U. of North Carolina at Wilmington, US) and Privat-Dozent Jerome Ducor (Ethnographic Museum, Geneva, CH) in association with Adrian Hale, Barry Kapke, Murray Kessell, and Peter Schlenker (in US, UK, DE and AU) main this site, which keeps track of leading information facilities in the fields of Buddhism and Buddhist studies
Center for Religion and Civic Culture 
(A site from a major university)

The Center for Religion and Civic Culture is an organized research unit of the College of Letters, Arts and Sciences at the University of Southern California. It promotes discipline-based, transdisciplinary, and interdisciplinary research related to the involvement of religion and religious institutions in civic culture.
It emphasizes the study of: 

  • Religion, culture and values
  • Religion, immigration, and cultural pluralism
  • Religion and community organizing, community development and public policy
Classic Bible Commentaries

This site, produced by Wholesome Publishing, contains the complete text of a number of classic commentaries on the Bible. Thirteen full or partial commentaries are available, including the Geneva Study Bible, Martin Luther's Commentary on Galatians, the Matthew Henry Commentary on the Bible (both complete and concise versions), John Wesley's Notes on the Bible, and Charles H. Spurgeon's Treasury of David (on the Psalms)
Confucius 

This is an online text giving a basic overview of the work of Confucius (551-479 BC), the eminent Chinese philosopher. It has been written by Kelley L. Ross of the Department of Philosophy, Los Angeles Valley College, USA.
Devi, The Great Goddess

The Web Site "Devi: The Great Goddess" was developed to complement an exhibition of the same name held at the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution in 1999. It is of interest to those looking at basic comparative religion.
Encyclopedia of Shinto Online (vol. 1) 

The original Japanese edition of Shinto jiten was published in 1994 f . The first volume of the English translation, representing the second chapter of the Shinto jiten and dedicated to Shinto deities or kami, was published from the same Institute in 1994.

Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy

This list represents one opinion on the essential secondary readings in English on Chinese philosophy. In this list, cross reference links will take you to the main entry for a book or article. At the main entry for a work, a link will take you to a WWW site about that entry or, in some cases, to the text of the entry itself.  Bryan Van Norden, the author, is an assistant professor in the Philosophy Department at Vassar College

*Hartford Institute for Religion Research
(A site from a seminary)

The Institute has a twenty-seven year record of rigorous, policy-relevant research, anticipating emerging issues and committed to the creative dissemination of learning.  Their goal is  providing quality, social scientific religion research information that is helpful for religious leaders and the general public.

*International Religious Freedom: 
(From the U. S. State Department)

Reports on International issues concerning freedom to worship.

International Institute for Hermeneutics 

From the U. of Toronto "The IIH is an autonomous, international, and interdisciplinary research institute, with connections to dozens of universities around the world through an international advisory board and a network of associates. The IIH was founded to foster and articulate a general hermeneutics, a task demanding an intensive interdisciplinary collaboration on a level that does not yet exist in the contemporary university. We have a particular concentration in philosophy, religious studies, and comparative literature."

Lord Mahavir and Jain Religion 

A personal site from Pravin K. Shah at the University of North Carolina.
Modern World of Witchcraft 

Also called Apologetics Index, it states "Apologetics Index provides 15,360 pages of research resources on religious cults, sects, new religious movements, alternative religions, apologetics-, anticult-, and countercult organizations, doctrines, religious practices and world views. These resources reflect a variety of theological and/or sociological perspectives."
*Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life 

The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.
Religion and Ethics: From the BBC 

Lots of definitions and terms.
Religion and Politics: A Tale of Two Churches

From National Public Radio. Listen to some of the religious issues that had an impact on the presidential election of 2004.

Religion Statistics: Adherents.com

Statistics covering membership in "over 4,000 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc." Indexes of religion by country and by name; statistics on largest communities of religions by countries and states of the U. S.

Shia Islam 

The Shi'a Islam web site provides a basic introduction to the differences between the Shi'a and Sunni religions, and describes the origins and subsequent history of the Shi'ite Muslims. This site forms part of an online courseware unit from Washington State University's 'World Civilizations' project.
The Sikhism Home Page

Sadeep Singh Brar produced this page in 1998. It doesn't appear to have been updated since. 
Taoism or the Way 

 Taoism, or The Way is a clearly written introductory essay on the philosophy of Taoism.

Traditional and True Native American Stories

Traditional and True Native American Stories is a site devoted to disseminating the culture, history and narratives of Native Americans. Available on the site are stories translated from a number of Native American languages, such as Dibaajimowinan, Aadizookaanag, and Mazinaajim.

Vatican: The Holy See

Vatican
: the Holy See' is the Vatican's official publicity web site.
World Religions in Art 

From the Minneapolis Institutes of Art, an online exhibition of items created for worship or religious ritual. These are accompanied by some textual discussion. 
World Scripture: A Comparative Anthology of Sacred Texts

"World Scripture gathers passages from the scriptures of the various religious traditions around certain topics. Often these scriptural passages support a common theme; sometimes they illuminate several contrasting positions on the topic. This method of organization allows each topic to be addressed with the resources of many different traditions, often providing a broader and deeper understanding of the topic than would be possible from the resources of a single tradition."

Your Guide to the Religions of the World

BBC World Service: Covers Buddhists, Christians, Hindus,  Jews  Moslems, & Sikhs - An ambitious title for a easy to use site.

METASITES

Beliefnet
Find religious, spiritual, and moral information and inspiration from a spectrum of religious and spiritual beliefs. Includes news, discussions, culture, prayer, links to sacred texts, pages for Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and many other religions and spiritual beliefs. Offers columns written by a wide variety of scholars, and a glossary of religion terms. "Not affiliated with a particular religion or spiritual movement."
Comparative Religion.com A dot.com site from the United Kingdom, the site says: 
It " is devoted to bringing to one place on the internet the key books and writings of human spiritual and religious thought. Covering the major world religions of the world, alternative spiritual systems, and ancient mythologies, this is an ever expanding work in the making."
Islam Page

'The Islam Page' is probably the largest gateway on Islamic material currently available.
Internet Sacred Text Archive

The Internet Sacred Text Archive CD-ROM includes electronic texts of nearly a thousand of the most important books and articles ever written, including over two hundred transcribed specially for sacred-texts.
Philtar 

The PHILTAR  website is a gateway to online academic materials on philosophy, theology and religion. The Philosophy resources can be searched either through the 'Compendium of Philosophers'  contains  or the 'Philosophy Front Page.  From St. Martin's College, in Northern Great Britain.
Religion Online

Full texts recognized by religious scholars, this site is moderated by William Fore, who says "Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring religious issues. The aim is to develop an extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship. While the initial orientation has been to seek material written primarily from a Christian perspective, the ultimate aim is to broaden the scope to include material on all the world's major religions." 

*Virtual Religion Index 
(A site from a major university.) 

This site is designed to advance research in matters of religion.  Many religion-related web pages offer lists of links to sites of related interest. This Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within.  From the Rutgers University Religion Department.

*WWW Virtual Library: Religion The WWW virtual library is a  guide to selected resources across all the main academic areas. Each site is managed by a volunteer "editor" who is usually an academic - either a professor, graduate student or librarian, who knows the subject matter. 

'ZINES

Journal for the Study of Religions and Ideologies

A Romanian journal publishing articles in Romanian as well as in English.
Journal of Religious Ethics

The Journal of Religious Ethics is dedicated to fostering scholarly ethical reflection in the context of various religious traditions. Articles published fall within three main categories: comparative religious ethics; foundational, conceptual and methodological issues pertaining to religious ethics; and studies of key figures and/or texts in the history of religious ethics.

Religion and Ethics News Weekly 

a companion to an ongoing Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) "program devoted entirely to the news of religion and spirituality, and major ethical issues" from around the nation and the world. The site includes audio clips from the programs, interviews, features articles, news briefs, etc. 

*Rutgers Journal of Law and Religion

As the world becomes figuratively smaller, and secular constructs such as law become more complex, an understanding of the role of religion within this transformation has become more crucial than ever. It  founded with no particular ideology in mind. It explores how law impacts different religions, and reciprocally, how various religions impact the law.
Religion News Service

Authoritative source of news about religion, ethics, spirituality, and moral issues. RNS' first priority is to provide intelligent, objective coverage of all religions â€" Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Asian religions, private spirituality, New Age, and tribal beliefs
WorldWide Faith News  

Is a database of full text official news releases and other documents, including policy statements, from the news offices of national and world faith groups

TUTORIALS

*Anthropology of Religion  Created and Maintained by Dr. Dennis O'Neil
Behavioral Sciences Department, Palomar College, San Marcos, California.There are audio portions to the tutorial and Windows Media Player and RealPlayer are required to hear them.
Internet for Religious Studies 
Islamic World to 1600 from the U. of Calgary.