STCC Seal

Quick Links:

Translate Site Map
Home
Future Students
Current Students
Alumni
Business & Community Resources
About STCC

Research Guides

Research Guides Home Reference Sources Audio/Visual Databases Periodicals Web Sites Ask a Librarian

Reference Sources

The list below identifies several encyclopedias or dictionaries available in the STCC library.  Encyclopedias are often useful starting points for research, while dictionaries provide explanations of terms used throughout subject focused tools.  These are just a few of the many reference sources available.

The Continuum Dictionary of Religion BL31.C67 1994 
Dictionary of Celtic Myth and Legend BL900.G73 1992 
A Dictionary of Comparative Religion. BL31.D54 1970 
Eastern Definitions : A Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient BL31.R52 
Encyclopedia of American Religions BL2525.M449 2003 

The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions 

BL2462.5.E53 2001 
Encyclopedia of Buddhism BQ128.E62 2004
The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions BL2525.L49 1998 
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World  BP40.E525 2004
The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions E98.R3.H73 1991
The Encyclopedia of Religion BL31.E46 1987 
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend BL303.M45 2004
The HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion BL31.H37 1995 
Religion : A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia BL80.2.L463 1998 
The Shambhala Dictionary of Taoism BL1923.S48 1996 
Shorter Encyclopaedia of Islam. DS37.E52 1953 
World religions BL82.B68 1997 

 

(413) 781-7822  •  TDD (413) 746-0079  •  Armory Square  •  Suite 1  •  PO Box 9000  •  Springfield, MA 01102-9000  •  Admissions Office Fax # (413) 746-0344