Reference Sources

General Name Resources | Multicultural Name Resources | Geographic Name Resources
Terms to Know

General Name Resources
American Given Names Ref CS 2375 U6 S74
Baptismal Names  Ref CS 2367 W4 1968
Dictionary of American Family Names Ref CS 2485 D53 2003 (3 vols.)
A Dictionary of English Surnames Ref CS 2502 R39 1991
A Dictionary of Surnames  Ref CS 2385 H27 1988
Encyclopedia of American Family Names Ref CS 2485 R6 1995
First Name Reverse Dictionary Ref CS 2377 N37 1993
From Aaron to Zoe Ref CS 2377 R5 1993
Funk & Wagnalls Standard Encyclopedic Dictionary (Masculine, Feminine Names Supplements) Ref PE 1625 F8 1968
Hidden Truth of Your Name: A Complete Guide to First Names and What they Say About the Real You (The Nomenology Project.)  Ref CS 2377 H53 1999
People's Names  Ref CS 2305 I54 1997
The Perfect Name for the Perfect Baby Ref CS 2377 W56 1993
Pronouncing Dictionary of Proper Names Ref PE 1137 P82 1993
20,001 Names for Baby Ref CS 2377 W34 1992
Multicultural Name Resources
African Names Ref CS 2375 A33 S74 1993
Baby Names from Around the World Ref CS 2377 F5 1985
The Book of African Names Ref CS 2375 A33 A8 1991
Chinese American Names: Tradition and Transition Ref CS 2990 L68 1998
A Dictionary of Jewish Names and their History Ref CS 3010 K28
Jewish Family Names and Their Origins: An Etymological Dictionary Ref CS 3010 G84 1992
Master Book of Irish Surnames: Locations, Ethnicity, Spellings & Sources Ref CS 2415 O43 1993
Geographic Name Resources
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Ref G 103.5 .C645 1998 (3 vols.)
Origin of Certain Place Names in the United States  Ref E 155 .G19 1902. 
The Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada Ref E 154 .C36 1995
Placenames of the World Ref G 105 .R66 1997
Illustrated Dictionary of Place Names : United States and Canada Ref E .155 H57
Chambers World Gazetteer Ref G 103.5 .C444 1988

Terms to Know

Gazetteer - A dictionary of geographic place names and physical/cultural features. Sometimes the entries are accompanied by brief descriptions and longitudes and latitudes. 

Onamastics - The study of the origins of proper names. 

Surname - In general, a person's last name.

Christian Name - A name given at baptism. 

Given Name - A name given at birth. 

Proper Name - 

Pseudonym - A fictitious name used by an author. Samuel Langhorn Clemens' pseudonym was Mark Twain. Also called a "pen name."