Reference Sources
Printable version (includes both print resources and web sites)
PDF Version -- requires Acrobat Reader
Scholarship Pathfinder
| The A's and B's of Academic Scholarships. Anna Leider. 20th ed. 1998.
REF LB 2338 .L43 1998 "10,000 Ways to Beat the High Cost of College." Lists 1200 colleges and 100,000 awards. Doesn't include private scholarships, only those offered by four-year colleges and universities. Useful for transfer students and high school seniors. Lists the value of each award, the grade point average necessary to qualify, the SAT score necessary to qualify, and whether transfer students are eligible to apply. |
| The B* Student's (*or Lower) Complete Scholarship Book. Student Services, L.L.C.
REF LB 2338 .B3 1997 "The Scholarship Book Where Grades Don't Matter." Lists more than 2000 sources. Organized by name of sponsoring organization, and indexed by Major/Career Objective, Special Criteria (i.e. Military, Disability, etc.), and School. |
| The College Blue Book: Scholarships, Fellowships, Grants, and Loans. 33th ed. 2006.
REF L 901 .C697 2005 v. 5 Organized by Subject Area/Field of Study. Lists eligibility requirements, award amounts, and contact information for more than 2500 scholarships. Indexed by Subject, Level of Education i.e. College, Community College, Graduate, Vocational, etc.), Sponsoring Organization, and Title. |
| The College Board
College Cost & Financial Aid Handbook 2000
REF LB 2342 .C633 1999 - Estimates the full costs of attending hundreds of American Colleges. Includes both on campus and off campus estimates. Lists financial aid application procedures and who qualifies for financial aid at each individual school. |
| Don't Miss Out: The Ambitious Student's Guide to Financial Aid. Octameron Associates. 28th edition, 2004-2005.
LB 2337.4 .D65 2003 A step-by-step guide to planning, finding sources, and completing applications for financial aid. |
| Foundation Grants to Individuals. 11th ed.
REF 2336 .F599 1999 Lists private U.S. Foundations that offer grants to individuals. Isn't limited to scholarships -- also includes loans and money given to individuals for artistic endeavors such as filmmaking, writing, painting, and music, financial assistance for needy individuals, and grants for research and professional development. Indexed geographically, by company name, foundation name, type of support (i.e. travel grants, internships, etc.), and by subject. |
| Financial Aid for African Americans. Gail Ann Schlachter and R. David Weber.
REF LB 2337.2 .S285 2005 More than 1500 scholarships, fellowships, grants, and internships for African Americans. Indexed by program title, sponsoring organization, place of residency, tenability (where the awards must be used), subject, and chronologically by filing date. |
| Financial Aid for the Disabled and Their Families. Gail Ann Schlachter and R. David Weber.
REF LB 2337.2 .F58 1998 Scholarships, loans, grants-in-aid, and other assistance for people with disabilities and their families. Lists more than 1300 awards. Organized by type of disability with a separate section for families. Indexed by program title, sponsoring organization, place of residency, tenability (where the award must be used), subject, and chronologically by filing date. |
| College Financial Aid: The Best Resources to Help You Find the Money.
REF LB 2337.2 .C641 1998 Reviews and ratings of dozens of financial aid and scholarships books and websites. |
| The Scholarship Advisor. Chris Vuturo. The Princeton Review. 2001 edition.
REF LB 2238 .V88 2000 Organized alphabetically by provider, and indexed by name of provider and deadline date. Includes amount of award, number of awards given, and criteria for eligibility. Introductory material guides students through the scholarship process. |
| The Scholarship Scouting Report: An Insider's Guide to America's Best Scholarships. Ben Kaplan.
REF LB 2338 .K365 2003 In-depth profiles of 35 scholarships, including the American Legion Oratorical Contest, the National Peace Essay Contest, and the Dupont Challenge. |
| Paying for College Without Going Broke. The Princeton Review. 2004 edition.
REF LB 2337.4 .P744 2004 Financial aid assistance from beginning to end. Line-by-line instructions for completing FAFSA and CSS PROFILE forms. |
| Scholarship Handbook 2005. CollegeBoard.
REF LB 2338 .C697 S3383 2004 Information on more than 2,100 college scholarship, internship, and loan programs. Indexed by Corporate/Employer, Disabilities, Field of Study, Gender, International Student, Military Participation, Minority Status, National/Ethnic Background, Organization/Civic Affiliation, Religious Affiliation, Returning Adult, State of Residence, and Study Abroad. |
| Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2006. Peterson's.
REF LB 2337.4 .P48 2005. Organized by field of study, and indexed by award name; sponsoring organization; academic/career area; civic, professional, social or union affiliation; corporate affiliation; employment experience; impairment; military service; national or ethnic background; religious affiliation; state of residence; and talent (i.e. golf, music, etc.). Includes more than 2500 scholarships. |
| Peterson's College Money Handbook. Peterson's.
REF LB 2337.2 .C65 2005 Listed alphabetically by college name. Lists information about each institution, college expenses, who qualifies for financial aid, what kind of work-study program the college has, and what forms are required for financial aid assistance. Only includes four year schools. Useful for transfer students and high school students. |
| The Financial Aid Book. Student Financial Services.
REF LB 2337.3 .F56 1999 Calls itself "The Insider's Guide to Private Scholarships, Grants, Fellowships, Internships, Competitions, and Loans." More than 3000 listings. Organized alphabetically by sponsoring organization. Indexed by college major, state of residency/study, memberships and activities, student/family employment, and "other personal characteristics" (i.e. gender, ethnic background, adopted child, etc.) |
| Scholarships 2005. Kaplan.
REF LB 2848 .K37 2004 Lists scholarships by subject area, with a large section on unrestricted scholarships. Subject areas include Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences. Listings are organized alphabetically by sponsoring organization within each subject area. Indexed by subject, residency, sponsoring organization, and tenability (where the awards must be used). |
| Scholarship Handbook 2000. The College Board. 3rd ed.
REF LB 2338 .S368 1999 Lists more than 2,000 undergraduate scholarships, loans, and internships. Organized by sponsoring agency, and indexed by corporate/employer, disabilities, field of study, gender, military service, minority status, national/ethnic background, organization/civic affiliation, religious affiliation, returning adult status, state of residence, and whether the student wishes to study abroad. |
|
College Financial Aid for Dummies. IDG Books Worldwide. 2nd ed.
REF LB 2337.4 .D37 1999 Intended to help the scholarship seeker navigate the financial aid system and create a financial plan for four or more years of college. |
|
The College Board 2007 Scholarship Handbook. The College Board. 10th ed.
REF LB 2338 .C697 S3383 2007 Includes more than 2,100 programs for scholarships, internships and loans. |
