Web Sites

United States Department of Agriculture Plants Database

UConn's Plant Database of Trees, Shrubs, and Vines

Calphotos from U.C. Berkeley

GardenWeb

The History of Gardening Time Line 1800-1899

Frances Loeb Library, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass

Here, you can view about 2,800 lantern slides represents an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. It represents the work of Harvard faculty, such as Frederick Law Olmsted Jr., Bremer W. Pond, and James Sturgis Pray, as well as that of prominent landscape architects throughout the country. 

Horticulture and Home Pest News  - from Iowa State University's Extension Service. 

University of Nevada, Las Vegas Library annotated list of critical sites in Landscape Architecture.

Sites of Interest

Beatrix Farrand: Landscape Architect by
Maria LoBiondo, first appeared in Princeton: With One Accord, Fall 1998.

Burle Marx and CIA

Thomas Church - Personal Site

Thomas Church: Lakewold Gardens

Frank Lloyd Wright: Designs for an American Landscape

Jefferson Digital Archive

Museum of Garden History: Gertrude Jekyll Room

Jekyll, Gertrude

British Express: Lancelot "Capability" Brown

Directory of botanists, plantsmen, landscapers, gardeners and writers of note

Jens Jensen Legacy Project - Biography

Jens Jensen: The Clearing

Jens Jensen: Friend of the Native Landscape from Chicago Wilderness Magazine
by Julia Sniderman Bachrach


Frederick Law Olmsted: Founder of American Landscape Architecture

Yosemite History: Frederick Law Olmsted

Andre Le Notre

AND:

Thomas Church, Garrett Eckbo and the Post-War California Garden
An essay by Mark Trieb,  Professor of Architecture, UC Berkeley

Local Gardens by Landscapers of Note: (within a 2 hour drive)

Frederick Law Olmstead National Historic Site

Smith College Campus (Frederick Law Olmstead)

Seaside Sculpture Park, Bridgeport, CT 

Gardens at Bellefield (Beatrix Farrand)

Garland Farm (okay, it's a 6 hour drive...)

So is: 

 College of the Atlantic
 
The Mount (Edith Wharton's home in Lenox)

 Old Yale Secret Gardens


Parks and Projects of Note

Bushnell Park, Hartford Connecticut -

Central Park

Chatsworth House

About Springside

Balboa Park History - (San Diego)

Plants database -

Japanese Garden Database

Great Buildings.Com

Garden Revolutions (British information) - 

Lawn and Turf Care

Lawn Institute

Turfgrass Information Center - from Michigan State University.

UC IPM online (from the University of California - Davis)

Associations and Organizations 

American Nursery and Landscape Association

Association of Professional Landscape

Massachusetts Nursery and Landscape Association

Trust for Public Land

Landscape Institute - British institute for Landscape Architects.

Institute of Horticulture (United Kingdom)

Organic Gardening

Organicgardening.com - Companion site for the magazine OG (Organic Gardening). Contains sample articles, tables of contents, and a guide to organic gardening.

HDRA - Based in Great Britain, HDRA is Europes largest organic membership association.

Internet Directory for Botany

Plants Database: From the Federal Government

PROPAGATION (Academic Institutions or the USDA)

Grafting and Budding from North Carolina

Plant Propagation from the Arizona Cooperative Extension Service

Plant Propagation from Ohio State University's Master Gardener site

Plant Propagation from Texas A and M

Propagating Plants in and around the Home From U. of Kentucky

PROPAGATION from for Profit Sites:  

Backyard Gardener.com

Landscape Propagation (Landspro)

Succulent plant.com

Want more links?
Go to STCC Library's de.licio.us account and search by keyword or go directly to the landscape architecture bundle.

Projects:

Here are some links to projects and project related information  that might provoke some thought as work begins on  decorative assignments. Look for ideas from craft sites, professional organizations and academic programs. Try IMAGE tabs on search engines to  see completed projects. Use the online catalog and databases to look for projects from  reliable print sources.  Be a wise consumer. If a site asks for money for project plans, think before you agree to spend your dollars. If you need assistance, reference librarians are available during regular library hours. The phone number for the reference desk is (413) 755-4549. You can also submit an email reference question, which we will try to answer within 48 hours.

Blooming Plants for Seasonal Color (Robson, Mary. Washington State University Extension Service )
Conifer Lined Baskets. Mathews, Naomi. Garden Guides.
DIY Network: Arts and Crafts Holiday Evergreen Wreath
DIY Network: Hanging Holiday Centerpiece
Herb Balls for the Christmas Tree (from Inseason.com)
Holiday Decorating with Fresh Greens:  Russ, Karen, George D. Kessler, and Bob Polomski. Clemson University
Holiday Decorations from the Garden by Talt, Margery.  Suite 101.com
Holiday Greens - Dana, Michael, and B. Rosie Lerner Department of Horticulture, Purdue University
Kinara Centerpiece for Kwanzaa from Kids Domain
Make a Holiday Swag and other tutorials from Plantamerica
Palm Beach Holiday Guide - Evergreen Wreath
Natural Decoration for Autumn and Winter - Frugal Moms  Miller, Gail
Pinecone Decorations
Plants with Holiday Traditions: - Information from White Flower Farm
Potted Hyacinths - Bulbs.com
Pumpkins on Display - (from the Seasoned Gardner on House and Garden TV)
Quick Holiday Ornament - (From Debra Simpson at  About.com)
WPTA Decoration Tips

Propagation: 


Here are some links to propagation information that might provoke some thought as work begins on assignments. Look for sites from academic institutions, professional organizations or corporations. Try IMAGE tabs on search engines to see processes. If you need assistance, reference librarians are available during regular library hours. The phone number for the reference desk is (413) 755-4549. You can also submit an email reference question, which we will try to answer within 48 hours.

Albuquerque Area Master Gardeners and New Mexico Master Gardeners: Asexual Propagation.
Evens, Erv, and Frank A. Blevich. Plant Propagation by Stem Cuttings: Instructions for the Home Gardener. North Carolina State University Horticulture Information Leaflet.
Easy Plant Propagation Techniques that Work Great at Home! (An enthusiast page!)
House Plant Propagation from Michigan State University Extension Service.
Ingram, Dewayne L. Landscape Plant Propagation Workbook: Unit II. Propagation by Cuttings. University of Florida Extension Service.
Landscape Plant Propagation Information from the University of Florida.
Plant Propagation: Master Gardner from Ohio State University
Plant Propagation from University of Florida Cooperative Education Center. Electronic Data Information Service.
Plant Propagation from the Hort. 400 course at Cornell University. (includes slide shows)
Plant Propagation: An Overview of Plant Asexual Reproduction From TEXAS A & M University
Roses - Propagation from Michigan State University Extension Service
Suite 101.com: Real People helping Real People. Plant Propagation. Articles by enthusiasts.
Tidbits of Information from the California Rare Fruit Growers Association

AND

Gardner's Net: Plant Propagation
Internet Guidepost for Plant Production
Internet Directory for Gardening
World Wide Web Virtual Library: Botany