Web Sites

Surlalune: Fairy Tale Pages
http://www.surlalunefairytales.com/
Includes annotated stories, listings of multiple versions and links to illustrations done over time. One of the most detailed sites.
Aesop's Fables
http://www.aesopfables.com/
American Folklore
http://www.americanfolklore.net/ 
Strictly American stories (Paul Bunyan, Johnny Appleseed, etc.)
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project
http://www.childrensbooksonline.org/library.htm
CHILDE (Children's Historical Literature Disseminated Throughout Europe )
http://www.bookchilde.org/ This project provides "wider and more open access to images from collections of early children's books in Europe."
de Grummond Children's Literature Collection (from the University of Southern Mississippi)
http://www.lib.usm.edu/%7Edegrum/
Fairy Tales on the World Wide Web
http://mason.gmu.edu/%7Erutledge/ftlink.htm 
Access to tale specific sites, like Cinderella, Little Riding Hood, etc.
The Fairy Tale: Mme Leprince de Beaumont 
http://www.athabascau.ca/html/courses/engl/373/sect5-1.htm 
Literary fairy tales.
Folk and Fairy Tales: Web Site Links compiled by D. L. Ashliman
http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folklinks.html
Access to stories by THEME 
Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art the first full-scale museum in America devoted to national and international picture book art.
Guardians of the Fairy Tale (From National Geographic) 
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/article.html
Once Upon a Time: Lists of Classic Fairy Tales reworked (and definitions)
http://www.skyehidesigns.com/mainbook.html
Online Children's Stories
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/stories.html
One part of the Children's Literature Web Guide
Stories, Folklore and Fairy Tales Theme Page
http://www.cln.org/themes/fairytales.html 
Tales of Wonder: Folk and Fairy Tales from Around the World
http://www.surfamerica.info/
TrollMoon
http://www.trollmoon.com/ 
 

OTHER PLACES TO VISIT:

Folklore, Myth and Legend
http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/storfolk.html
Homework Center - Mythology
http://www.multcolib.org/homework/mythhc.html
Legends
http://bestoflegends.org/index.html
Lu Rees Archives of Australian Children's Literature
http://www.canberra.edu.au/lurees/home
Mythology, Legend, Folklore and Ghosts
http://www.teacheroz.com/myth-legend.htm
Tall Tales: The Topic
http://www.42explore.com/talltale.htm
Animated Tall Tales.com  Worth examining for the art
http://www.animatedtalltales.com/
Myths,  Folktales & Fairy Tales An online activities center for teachers! From Scholastic Books
http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/mff/
Aaron Shepard's Folktales
http://www.aaronshep.com/stories/folk.html
World of Peter Rabbit
http://www.peterrabbit.com 
Beatrix Potter, Here we come 
Antelope Publishing: Ongoing Tales: Old Time Fairy Tales a collection of old-time fairy tales from various out of copyright books.
Uncle Remus (from the U of Va.)  Central links page for Uncle Remus stories, reviews, short biography and
bibliography. 
International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) is a five-year project funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to create a digital library of international children's books.  As of February 2004, over 300 books in several languages are available.


AND SOME VERSIONS....

SurLaLune: Fairy Tale Pages
http://www.surlalunefairytales.com/
Children's Story Collections
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/storcoll.html
Indian Why Stories( Linderman, Frank B.Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia Library)
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/toc/modeng/public/LinIndi.html
Forms of Traditional Literature
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/form2.htm
Readers' Theater Editions by Aaron Shephard
http://www.aaronshep.com/rt/RTE.html


MAGAZINES

Clave Magazine: A Journal of Latin American Arts and Culture http://www.lafi.org/magazine/magazine.html
Endicott Studio: An Interdisciplinary Arts Organization for Mythic and Interstitial* Arts http://www.endicott-studio.com/

*from: Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary
interstice is a noun [C] a very small crack or space
interstitial is something that fills a crack or space.
Legends Magazine Online http://bestoflegends.org/index.html
Marvels and Tales Available at AIC. http://www.langlab.wayne.edu/MarvelsHome/Marvels_Tales.html

  By Nation:

ARMENIA:

Armenia Fairy Tales: Hekiats http://www.armenianheritage.com/lafairy.htm

AUSTRALIA:

Australian Legendary Tales http://www.sacred-texts.com/aus/alt.htm
Indigenous Australia http://www.dreamtime.net.au/dreaming/storylist.htm

CANADA:

Yaffles and Yaffles: Newfoundland http://www3.nf.sympatico.ca/mayad/fairies/

CHINA:

Chinese Folk Tales http://www.germantownacademy.org/academics/ls/5th/chinfolk/stinde00.htm

INDIA:

Jataka Tales http://www.indiaparenting.com/stories/jataka/index.shtml

JAPAN:

Folk Legends of Japan http://web-japan.org/kidsweb/folk/index.html

JUST FOR FUN:

Fairy Tale Quiz http://www.familygames.com/features/quizzes/ftquiz.html

NORWAY:

Norwegian Fairy Tales: A Classics Collection http://oaks.nvg.org/lg4ra2.html

ROMANIA:

Romanian Fairy Tales http://www.dragonrest.net/romanian/fairytales.html

RUSSIA:

Russian Fairy Tales http://www.tradestonegallery.com/index.php?content=fairytales
Russian Fairy Tales (personal site) http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Delphi/6422/tale.html

UNITED KINGDOM: (England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales)

British Studies Web Pages: Myths and Legends http://elt.britcoun.org.pl/elt/m_index.htm
Celtic Fairy Tales by Joseph Jacobs http://www.sacred-texts.com/neu/celt/cft/
Scottish Traditional Tales http://www.electricscotland.com/music/tales/

ILLUSTRATIONS:

Attwell: (And others) Women Children's Book Illustrators http://www.ortakales.com/illustrators/Attwell1.html
Cruikshank: The Victorian Web - The Fantastic... http://www.victorianweb.org/art/illustration/cruikshank/index.html
Where Something Stands http://www.carleton.ca/gallery/Inuit/stories.htm
Inuit Prints inspired by legends

Back to the Top