Reference Sources
From the Titanic to the Challenger: an Annotated Bibliography on Technological Failures of the Twentieth Century
TA 169.5 .H567 1989 Ref.
This valuable annotated bibliography covers major engineering disasters of the twentieth century. Entries list both sources from engineering literature and articles from the popular press. Despite its somewhat advanced age, this book is a useful resource for students of design failure.
When Technology Fails
TA 169.5 W44 1994 Ref.
Contains short articles (usually about 5 pages) describing various technological failures of the last 100 years. Articles are grouped alphabetically by type (i.e. aircraft, automobiles, bridges, etc) and then chronologically within each type. A short bibliography ends each article.
Failed Technology
TA 169.5 .F75 1995 Ref. (2 vols.)
Similar to the book mentioned above, but this work features fewer structural failures and includes topics such as chemical disasters, poorly designed vehicles, and environmental catastrophes.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Q 121 .M3 2002 Ref. (20 vols.)
A standard reference work covering a wide range of science and engineering topics. Includes articles on bridges, buildings, structural materials, and civil engineering. Also available online through AccessScience.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
TA 151 .S8 1996
A single volume source that presents what the editors describe as "the best of current practice in civil engineering." Topics include the planning, design, and construction of buildings, tunnels, transportation facilities, bridges, and other structures. Examples of updated material from the 3rd edition include computer modeling, beach erosion, and the application of new synthetic materials.
The Engineering Handbook
TA 151 .E424 1996
A reference guide that attempts to tackle all aspects of engineering. Intended for academics, researchers, and engineers in the field. Definitions of terms are included throughout, with the terms indicated in bold. Includes a large section on civil engineering.
CRC Handbook of Tables for Applied Engineering Science
TA 151 .C2 1970
Essential engineering data such as physical constants, units and conversions, and machinery vibrations. Many tables include both metric and non-metric data.
Structural Engineering Handbook
TA 635 .S77 1990 Ref.
The number of structures covered in this work is extensive, and the editors have condensed data whenever possible. Includes chapters on retaining structures and tall buildings.
Construction Materials Reference Book
TA 403.4 .C66 1990 Ref.
Intended for professional engineers and students, this book describes several hundred construction materials, including a general description of the product, manufacturing processes, physical properties, dimensional stability, and more.
Practically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations on Engineering Technology and Architecture
TA 9 .P73 1999 Ref.
A collection of quotations covering the fields of engineering and architecture.
Dictionary of Civil Engineering
TA 9 .S35 1981 Ref.
Standard dictionary of civil engineering words and phrases. Because it was published in 1981, it doesn't include much computer-related terminology.
The Reference Guide to Famous Engineering Landmarks of the World
TA 15 .B42 1998 Ref.
This work includes brief entries for more than 600 noteworthy engineering achievements, including bridges, tunnels, dams, roads, and canals. The work is historically interesting, but somewhat light on technical information.
Encyclopedia of Technology and Applied Sciences
T 48 .E52 2000 Ref. (11 vols.)
Wide-ranging set that includes a large section on civil engineering and design.
Handbook of Construction Tolerances
TH 851 .B35 1994 Ref.
Describes the allowable variations among construction materials and their installed positions.
The Elements of Style: An Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail
NA 2850 .E445 2005 Ref
Handbook of Architectural Technology
TH 19 .H36 1991 Ref.
Sweet's General Building & Renovation
TH 455 .S81 1997 Ref. ( vols.)
2000 National Repair & Remodeling Estimator
TH 4816 .P39 2000 Ref.
Architectural Graphic Standards
TH 2031 .A48 2000 Ref.
Standard Handbook of Structural Details & Building Construction
TH 2031 .N4 1993 Ref.
Failure Mechanisms in Building Construction
TH 441 .F35 1997 Ref.
Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary
TH 9 .M4 2000 Ref.
Failures in Civil Engineering: Structural, Foundation and Geoenvironmental Case Studies
TA 653 .F35 1995
