Reference Sources

The following list documents many of the Biology reference materials owned by the STCC Library. The list is organized by type of material. To search for a particular concept (i.e. "fossils" or "virology") use the "Find" option in your browser. All items are located in the Reference Stacks on the 1st floor of the STCC Library. 

Please note: This is not an exhaustive list. For more information, search the STCC Library catalog

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries | Biographies | Handbooks & Field Guides | Atlases 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

General

Biology
an online resource from Gale (4 vols., 2002)

Dictionary of Biology
REF 302.5 .I534 1999

Dictionary of Science and Technology
REF Q 123 .C482 1999

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

REF QH 302.5 .E53 1996 (11 vols.)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Science 
REF Q 121 .G35 2001 (6 vols.)

The International Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
REF Q121.I48 1999 

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
REF Q 121 .M3 2002 (20 vols.)
Also available online as AccessScience.

Science and Technology Desk Reference
REF Q 173 .S397 1993

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
QH 83 .S89 (2 vols.)

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
REF Q 121 .V3 1999 (2 vols. 8th ed.)

World of Biology
REF QH 302.5 .W67 1999

Botany
The Encyclopedia of North American Trees
REFQK 110 .B46 2000

Encyclopaedia of Trees and Shrubs
REF QK 474.87 .V47 1997

Plant Structure
REF QK 642 .B68 2000

Evolutionary Science & Extinct Animals
Grzimek's Enyclopedia of Evolution

REF QE 711.2 .G79

The Visual Dictionary of Dinosaurs
REF QE 862 .D5 D5173 1993

The Ultimate Dinosaur Book
REF QE 862 .D5 L4246 1993

Endangered Species
Encyclopedia of Endangered Species
REF QH 75 .A1 E53 1994

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
REF QH 77 .N56 B43 2001 (6 vols.)
also available online

Genetics
A Dictionary of Genetics
REF QH 427 .K55 1997

Encyclopedia of Genetics
REF QH 427 .E53 2001

Genetics Manual
REF QH 427 .R43 1998

Zoology
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
REFQL 3 .G7813 (13 vols.)

Latin Names Explained
REF QL 9 .G67 1996

Mammals of the Eastern United States
REF QL 719 .E23 W49 1998

Smithsonian Book of North American Mammals
REF QL 715 .S55 1999

Anatomy & Physiology
Encyclopedia of Reproduction

REF QP 251 .E48125 1998 (4 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
QP141 .E526 1999 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Stress
QP 82.2 .S8 E53 2000 (3 vols.)

Gray's Anatomy
QM 23.2 .G73 1995

Microbiology
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
QP 9 .E53 1992 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Immunology
QR 180.4 .E53 1998 ( vols.)

Encyclopedia of Virology
QR 358 .E52 1994 ( vols.)

Biographies

American Men and Women of Science

REF Q 141 .A47 1986 (8 vols.)

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
REF Q 141 .B526 1994 (2nd ed.)

Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists
REF Q 141 .B532 1998 (5 vols.)

The Great Scientists
REF Q 141 .G767 1989 (12 vols.)

Notable Black American Scientists
REF Q 141 .N726 1999

Notable Scientists From 1900 to the Present
REF Q 141 .N728 2001 (5 vols.)

Notable Women in the Life Sciences
REF QH 26 .N68 1996

Handbooks & Field Guides

Animal Tracks (Peterson Field Guides)
REF QL 768 .M87 1975

The Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Mammals
REF QL 715 .W48

The Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees
REFQK 481 .L49 1980 (2 vols.)

Butterflies of the World
REF QL 542 .S321 1998

Birds of the World (Eyewitness Handbooks Series)
REF QL 673 .H2895 1993

Fossils (Eyewitness Handbooks Series) 
REF QE 711.2 .W34 1992

Eastern Birds (Peterson Field Guides)
REF QL 681 .P45 1980

Eastern Forests
REF QH 102 .K75 1988

Guide to Flowering Plant Families
REFQK 115 .Z65 1994

Insects (Peterson Field Guides)
REF QL 464 .B65 1987

Mushrooms
REF QK 617 .M424 1987

New Field Book of American Wildflowers
REF QK 110 .R5

Reptiles and Amphibians (Peterson Field Guides)
REF QL 651 .C65 1991

Shells (Eyewitness Handbooks)
REF QL 404 .D38 1992

Atlases & Maps

Biomap: Guiding Land Conservation for Biodiversity in Massachusetts 
REF QH 77 .M2 B615 2001

Nature Atlas of America
REF QH 102 .C57