Web Sites
African American History and Culture at the Smithsonian Institute.
http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/nmah/afroam.htm
Links to the voluminous black history resources at the Smithsonian.
African American Mosaic Exhibition.
http://lcweb.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html
A Library of Congress guide for the Study of Black History and Culture.
African American Odyssey.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html
Showcases the Library of Congress' incomparable African American collections.
African American Pamphlets. Home Page
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aap/
A unique collection of sermons, college catalogs, biographies, slave narratives, and other "grey" material from the Daniel P. Murray Pamphlet Collection at the Library of Congress. Each pamphlet is searchable by keyword, subject, or author.
Africans in America.
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/home.html
Companion site to the PBS special.
Gateway to African American History. http://usinfo.state.gov/scv/history_geography_and_population/population_and_diversity/african_americans.html Includes an archive of texts relating to African American History and Civil Rights.
The King Center.
http://www.thekingcenter.com
Official site of the King Center, established in 1968 by Coretta Scott King in memory of her husband. Contains biographical and historical information about Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Civil Rights era.
Malcolm X: A Research Site.
http://www.brothermalcolm.net
Compiled by Professor Abdul Alkalimat, University of Toledo, this site contains a searchable chronology of Malcolm's life.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html
Home page of the acclaimed New York City research library dedicated to the preservation of materials and history of people of African descent.
WPA Slave Narratives.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/snintro00.html
Interviews gathered by the ambitious Federal Writers' Project of the WPA
