Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions.
Glazier, Stephen D., ed. New York: Routledge. 2001.
BL 2462.5 .E53 2001
Nearly 150 entries on religious movements and churches. Includes both African religions and those practiced by African-Americans.

The African-American Atlas.
Asanta, Molefi K., and Mark T. Mattson. New York: MacMillan. 1998.
E 185 .A79 1998 REF
Beautifully illustrated and presented, this text combines essays with geographical information relating to many aspects of the African American experience. Numerous maps, charts, tables, and photographs accompany each section.

African American Desk Reference.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture -- New York Public Library.
New York: Stonesong Press, 1999.
E 185 .N57 1999 REF
A single volume source that details "the breadth and depth of the black population's impact on American life."

African-American Encyclopedia. 2nd ed.
Rasmussen, Kent R., ed.
New York: Marshall Cavendish, 2001.
E 185 .A253 REF (10 volumes)
Brief articles concerning many aspects of African American life and history. Good coverage of popular culture as well.

Chronology of African American History. 2nd ed.
Hornsby Jr., Alton.
Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1997.
E 185 .H64 1997 REF
Year by year descriptions of significant historical and cultural events in African American History.

African America Lives
Henry Louis Gates & Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, eds.
New York: Oxford, 2004.
E 185.96 .A446 2004 REF

Civil Rights in America: 1500 to the Present.
Edited by Jay A. Sigler
Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998.
JC 599 .U5 S53 1998  REF
Traces the history of American Civil Rights laws from the earliest European contact with the New World.

Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. Updated, with a New Introduction and Bibliography
Edited by Randall M. Miller and John David Smith.
Westport, CT: Praeger, 1997.
E 441 .D53 1997
More of an encyclopedia than a dictionary, this work contains signed articles on a wide range of topics relating to slavery. A selected bibliography accompanies each article.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
Salzman, Jack, ed.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1996.
E 185 .E54 1996 REF (6 volumes including suppls.).
Produced by the Center for American Culture Studies at Columbia University, this set attempts to cover "all aspects of the African-American experience." Two-thirds of the entries are biographies, with the remainder dealing with events, historical eras, cultural achievements, and places.

Historical Statistics of Black America.
Smith, Jessie Carney, and Carrell Peterson Horton, eds.
Detroit: Gale Research, Inc. 1995.
E 185 .H543 1995 REF (2 vols.)
With statistics dating back to the 18th century, this work includes data on economics, health, education, and many other topics.